Sony MDR-V6
Nov 29, 2007 at 9:26 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 109

_Spanky_

500+ Head-Fier
I have a couple general questions about them so I figured this was the right category. I am wanting to get some V6's pretty soon but I would like to hear a couple people's opinions about them. I am sort of a bass head and I like nice deep bass but I want clarity in all tones as well. I am a big fan of sony and I am currently using the G57 street style headphones and they are pretty good but I want an upgrade.

Also I have a iPod 4G Photo with Rockbox installed on it. I have read that the quality of sound that comes out of iPods isn't great. How can I improve it with equalizer settings? Does anyone happen to have equalizer settings for V6's? I am really a noob when it comes to equalizer settings, I just mess around until they sound decent without a real clue what I am doing.

*EDIT*
Also any input on what other headphones I should look at for the price range would be awesome. I really like sony but I am open to ideas since these will be a pretty decent purchase in my audio.

I just need some general help with getting the most out of my iPod and V6's sound-wise and I figured this is the place to come. Thanks in advance for your help.

Nov 29, 2007 at 11:06 AM Post #2 of 109
I don't think you can go wrong with the V6's, they are among the best headphones you can buy for less than 100 bucks.

The quality of the sound coming out of your ipod is only as good as the files you put in it. Encode your MP3's well and it should sound fine. The Ipod's headphone amp isn't the greatest, so you might want to consider a different source for non-portable situations or consider a line-out adapter with portable amp setup. That will cost you about another hundred though.

Nov 29, 2007 at 1:24 PM Post #5 of 109