Sleek Audio SA6, Is there anything better?
Dec 5, 2009 at 7:46 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 23

Tsujigiri

1000+ Head-Fier
I've been looking around on the forums for an upgrade, and was originally thinking of getting the Allessandro MS-1's. Now, though, the Sleek Audio's look really nice, and I've seen them for $150 on some sites. All the reviews I've seen of them are positive, but then there are also people who make comments about how there are better options out there. Can anyone point me towards some of these better options? I currently have Altec-Lansing 336's, which I really like. However, they pop out of my ears all the time, so I'll be looking for a non-over the ear model this time (and the small size is part of the appeal of the SA6 for me). I'm a noob as far as headphones are concerned, so am I making a mistake by leaning towards IEM's instead of full-sized headphones? Which sounds better? Also, I've heard that the SA6 has a newer version that's better made. How can I tell the difference between the new and old versions by looking at a picture of them? Thank you in advance, Head-Fi is always extremely helpful.

Dec 5, 2009 at 9:56 PM Post #3 of 23
I used to own the SA6s before they sort of... fell apart. I can't speak for more recent revisions (if they're even different at all) but my early version sleeks were just ridiculously fragile. If build quality is even a remote concern for you I'd steer you far away from them. They did sound incredibly balanced and satisfying to my ears, almost to the level of the SE530s, but that doesn't compensate for the origami build quality.

In the same price range you should consider the Klipsch X10 or X5s, which have similar sound sig and are nice and small like the Sleeks. They're also far far better built based on the limited time I tried them for.