Sennheiser HD800 Questions
Sep 30, 2012 at 3:18 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

drewTT

100+ Head-Fier
New guy here so I should probably apologize for the newb post.  I have a ton of reading to do around here.

I am looking into headphone audio and the HD800s caught my attention.  I've been a regular on AVS for a while under the same handle so I am not a complete newb to audio.  I also tend to think that I have a good idea of what good sound reproduction is.

I've read a few reviews on the HD800s and am very intrigued by them.  I tend to enjoy a detailed and crisp sound presentation.  I guess some would call it forward...

My question is if going straight to the HD800 is like going to say a B&W Diamond, KEF Reference, etc. in the speaker world?  Is such a comparison even possible?

How much do the other components in the chain make a difference in headphone audio?  I currently use my PC as my 2.1 channel system.  I am running the Asus Essence STX.  I understand the STX has a pretty good headphone amp.  However, is it good enough for the HD800s?

If not, can you guys recommend a good headphone amp?  I've been looking at Woo Audio but not sure which model would be a good fit.

The last question is if it is possible to audition the headphones locally?  I am in socal, Orange County area.  I've only been able to find only retailers.

Thanks. 

Sep 30, 2012 at 5:18 PM Post #2 of 5
Ok, did some research and it seems like one of the Woo Audio tube amps would be a good fit to get rid of some of the harshness in the top end that people talk about.

Which of the Woo amps would be the best fit?  I like the WA2 but the price of the WA6 is much easier on the wallet.

Is the WA2 a worthy upgrade over the WA6?  Where does the WA6-SE fit in?

Is a good DAC still required or will my Asus STX be sufficient?

Oct 5, 2012 at 1:52 AM Post #4 of 5