Seeking advice from experts
Oct 29, 2012 at 11:18 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 27

Sweets2TheSweet

New Head-Fier
I'm looking for a headphone amp with enough juice to drive my brand new Senn HD800's. I've only ever used integrated's, but mine is on its last legs, so I think I want to go with a dedicated to replace it. For example, I was just looking at the Burston Soloist preamp/headphone amp. All it has is one knob for volume. Prepare yourself for a stupid question: How would I adjust the treble, bass or balance? Is it supposed to be hooked up to the integrated amp for that? If so, does that defeat the purpose?

Be gentle, I'm new at this stuff. Help would really be appreciated, because I'm not exactly a technological sage to begin with. Thanks.

Oct 30, 2012 at 4:44 AM Post #2 of 27
Quote:
I'm looking for a headphone amp with enough juice to drive my brand new Senn HD800's. I've only ever used integrated's, but mine is on its last legs, so I think I want to go with a dedicated to replace it. For example, I was just looking at the Burston Soloist preamp/headphone amp. All it has is one knob for volume. Prepare yourself for a stupid question: How would I adjust the treble, bass or balance? Is it supposed to be hooked up to the integrated amp for that? If so, does that defeat the purpose?

Be gentle, I'm new at this stuff. Help would really be appreciated, because I'm not exactly a technological sage to begin with. Thanks.

Relax - no one is here waiting to bite your head of. We all have things we'd like to learn / find out from the others and that's why we hang out here.