Review: Sennheiser HD590
Mar 14, 2003 at 8:41 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

genericguy

New Head-Fier
I'll start with a disclaimer that I'm a noob here, far from being an audiophile. I only have 2 real headsets right now, the Bose TriPorts and Sennheiser 590s. Since I've already reviewed the TriPorts, I guess that leaves me with the 590s.

The Reason
If you caught my TriPort review, you'll see that I'm a computer musician in search of cheap (<$300) headphones for composing music. I tried the Bose TriPorts, but found the spatialization far too weak (and vocals too recessed) for $150 headphones.

I had read good things about Sennheiser on this forum, so I decided to try the HD590s.

The Fit / Design
Compared to my Bose TriPorts and Sony MDR-600s, the HD590s really shocked me regarding size. The cone pads outsize my ears by a good 2/3", and leave me feeling like I'm wearing huge earmuffs.

The headphones are large enough such that I couldn't possibly wear them at work, and still look professional (I'm not a DJ).

Accessories
The HD590s come with an stereo 1/8" to 1/4" adapter.

Construction Quality
The construction quality of the 590s is quite nice.

Plenty of soft padding surrounds the ear cones and the bottom of headband. I am able to wear these cans for extended periods of time with little discomfort.

Surprisingly, the cones cannot be extended more than 1 1/2", which might be problematic for larger heads.

The 1/8" stereo cord is detachable, a nice touch. Audiophiles claim that custom audio cords have a higher quality than the stock cable that comes with the 590s. I look forward to testing this assertion soon.

I was a bit surprised that nearly every part of these cans are made from one-sided plastic. I had expected a bit higher quality for these phones, considering the $200 price. It also seems strange that so many people praise the 590's construction quality while cursing the Bose TriPorts, which are $50 cheaper. At least the TriPorts use two-sided plastic.