Questions about the AD700
Sep 18, 2010 at 12:12 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

kulawend

New Head-Fier
Hey guys, I just got the AD700 today and I really am enjoying them but I keep on thinking of ways to make them better since I enjoy modding things.

Question 1:
What's the difference between the AD500 and the AD700? If it's just the drivers then could I buy a pair of AD500 and swap the drivers with the AD700 so I can have the sweet looking black/silver?

Question 2:
I noticed that there's a silly rubber covering over the top bars and I don't see the purpose, would it be okay to remove the rubber and just have the metal showing?

Question 3:
My last headphones had a female jack so you could replace the cord, is that something I could easily implement into this headphone?

Question 4:
I've also seen some detachable mic mods, how hard are these to do?

All I'm really looking for is some solid information. I want to mod my headphones but I've never done it before.

Sep 18, 2010 at 12:22 AM Post #2 of 12
1.  The difference is the drivers.  Many people have just sprayed painted their grills to make them look like the AD500.  The dark knight mod if you do a search is the best one I've seen.

2.  The rubber covers the metal and the wires that go to the other side.  I would leave them how they are.

3.  I am trying to figure out how to add a female jack into the headphones, I want to do a dual entry.  If I ever figure it out, just stay tuned and I will probably write how-to instructions for it.

4.  The mic mods, I am not sure of which female jack to plug in.  I thought about using my Zalman mic, wrapping that in with my new re-cable and then just putting techflex over it so it looks like it is integrated into the line.

This is the post you want to look at.  He has pictures of everything your looking to do.  Doesn't explain what jacks and stuff very well, like most people here you will soon find out, but at least you can see how he painted his.