progressive rock?
Jan 31, 2008 at 1:38 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 46

seals

100+ Head-Fier
I'm very new to this sub-genre. The only artist I have heard of/ listened to is porcupine tree and I love them. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks you.

Jan 31, 2008 at 1:44 AM Post #2 of 46
As far as modern bands my favorite (besides Porcupine Tree) is Dream Theater, there are plenty of other good modern ones but I'm a lot more used to the older prog bands. If you are interested in the older prog definitely check out Yes, King Crimson, Emerson Lake and Palmer, the list goes on. I'm sure there are a lot of good ones that I enjoy that I'm forgetting about and there are a ton of bands that I still haven't gotten around to listening to that others will recommend, but I would think those are at least good starting points.

Jan 31, 2008 at 2:53 AM Post #6 of 46
Riverside is a good one I've recently discovered.

Jan 31, 2008 at 3:09 AM Post #8 of 46
Quote:

Originally Posted by Brian loves music /img/forum/go_quote.gif
PINK FLOYD

i can't stand dream theatre

which albums have you heard?

@op opeth (progressive metal maybe) and mars volta. Dream Theater can be amazing some times; their best albums are A change of Season, Images and Words, and a Train of Thought imo, and these albums have are a great showcase to Dream Theater's musical muscles. Opeth is good; they are a darker prog metal band that can shread and be methodical in their delivery. One aspect of their singing is the prog/death/metal growling that may turn you off, but their "clean" lyrics are amazing and they have tons of soul; ghost reveries is my favorite of their albums, and ghost of perdition is a killer track. Mars Volta is high energy and extremely layered in their sound; I love their music but they lyrics may put you off and my favorite album of theirs is "De-Loused In The Comatorium".