New to Separates and Loving It! Need Some Advice...
Apr 27, 2024 at 1:25 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

brycejohnson

New Head-Fier
Hello everyone,

I'm Bryce, and I'm pretty new to the world of audio separates—I've just moved on from my KEF LS50 Wireless to a setup with dual Schiit Tyr amps, a Kara pre-amp, and a Bifrost DAC. My Orchard Audio Pecan Pi is running into the Bifrost via USB and the Kara via XLR. SchiitStack.JPG

I'm using my old Bose 301V speakers, and they sound pretty awful, although the Tyr pushes them at higher volumes, okay. They've been boxed up for about 8 years, but no worries—I've got a pair of Ohm Walsh 2000 Tall Speakers on the way, and I'm excited to hear them in action by the end of next week!

In the meantime, I'm using Roon for my audio sources and experimenting with different DAC configurations (Schiit Bifrost via USB (Pecan Pi Streamer), Orchard Audio via XLR to Kara, and HiFi Berry DAC2 HD via RCA to Kara). I can already notice subtle differences when switching sources, which is intriguing.

I've decided to withhold any critical judgments on sound quality until my new speakers arrive, as I suspect any issues I'm noticing are likely due to the limitations of the Bose speakers. Speaking of which, I grew up thinking Bose was the peak of audio achievement—funny how times change!

I have a question for the community: How do I integrate my KEF Kube 8b subwoofer into this setup since I don't have a dedicated subwoofer output? Do I need another amp for this, or is there another way? On this forum, I read that the Ohm's do not excel at the lower ends. Is the scenario where I push the pause button and just experience everything for myself -- I tend to be the guy changing 6 things at once and then wonder why it doesn't work. :)

I'm holding off on using Roon's Parametric EQ as my adjustments make things worse. I don't know what I'm doing, and I suspect the Bose 301s are not helping.