New to CIEMs - Help!
Nov 16, 2012 at 8:48 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

vc1187

500+ Head-Fier
Greetings chaps,

So I am not exactly new to the audiophile world (See Profile), but I am a complete newbie when it comes to CIEMs.

To my understanding, a visit to the local audiologist is required in order to get a molding of the inner ear, but what do I do from that point forward?

I'm really interested in trying out the UM: Miracle.

If you guys could walk me through the exact process, as well as sum up some costs for me, that would be wonderful.

Also, I plan on running these bad boys straight out of an iPhone... would that be sufficient?

Thanks!

Nov 16, 2012 at 9:44 AM Post #2 of 8
In my knowledge basically you have to send those impressions to the stated address, make the payment, inform the customs company about any customisation choices you might have (this normally incurs more costs, so make sure you do this before making any final payment) and...sit back and prepare for the long wait, which is basically the most painful thing of the whole process. UM normally takes around 1 month of turnover time, so make sure to preseve your sanity before they arrive. :D

Nov 16, 2012 at 9:49 AM Post #3 of 8
Quote:
In my knowledge basically you have to send those impressions to the stated address, make the payment, inform the customs company about any customisation choices you might have (this normally incurs more costs, so make sure you do this before making any final payment) and...sit back and prepare for the long wait, which is basically the most painful thing of the whole process. UM normally takes around 1 month of turnover time, so make sure to preseve your sanity before they arrive. :D

Worth it to purchase secondhand CIEMs on the forums here, then send them in to a re-shelling company?

Also, what is an estimated price for the audiologist visit?

Any price estimates on re-shelling as well?