New guy looking for a headphone amp set up!
Dec 25, 2016 at 7:16 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 31

skhan007

1000+ Head-Fier
Hi Everyone. I just joined today and I'm excited to start reading for hours on end and learning as much as I can here. I'm interested in putting together a headphone amp set up and was hoping to get recommendations and guidance. I'm leaning towards a tube amp set up (as I'm a guitarist and tube amp enthusiast), a good DAC, and a good set of headphones. I'm listening to mostly hard rock. 

In my limited research thus far, I'm really loving to look and reviews of the Woo Audio WA7 Fireflies set up (gorgeous!) and I've also read really strong reviews of the Schiit products. One review of the Woo Fireflies stated that the internal DAC was just OK, so the reviewer recommended having a good external DAC and using the WA7 as a power amp only. Not sure if owners or those familiar would agree. As for headphones, I'm completely open to suggestions, but have read great things about both Sennheiser and Oppo. Thanks in advance for any guidance!

Dec 26, 2016 at 12:12 AM Post #2 of 31
  I'm leaning towards a tube amp set up (as I'm a guitarist and tube amp enthusiast), a good DAC, and a good set of headphones.

If you're a tube enthusiast, maybe consider getting Valhalla 2 and Bifrost instead of WA7 as that way you will be able to tube roll much easier that way. Also if you want that tubey sound with the Valhalla 2 you will need to tube roll anyways since the stock tubes are really neutral sounding.

One review of the Woo Fireflies stated that the internal DAC was just OK, so the reviewer recommended having a good external DAC and using the WA7 as a power amp only.

I wouldn't worry about the DAC in the WA7 right now too much. It's not bad, it's decent and has good synergy with the amp itself so should be fine. You can always buy an external DAC later anyways if you wish.

Dec 26, 2016 at 11:45 AM Post #4 of 31