New and I have many questions for you gods
Dec 14, 2010 at 7:48 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 48

Kolkim

New Head-Fier

I'm new to audiopheliac, I've been listening to Dr Dre Studios for a while and I didn't know they're bad compared to others in it's price range, so I have many questions coming into this new world.

I'm going to return these during christmas time when you don't need a receipt (or try to) and get 400$ to spend on new headphones.

I'm looking at Headroom and they have such good deals, are they authorized dealers like can I break my headphones and call Denon or wherever and use the warranty?

I don't own an Amp or plan on getting one for a while.. I just listen to MP3's on my iphone, so is it even worth getting 400$ headphones? I'm looking at either the 'Denon AH-NC800' or the 'AKG K702' If I were to get nice huge headphones,

can ear buds have the same quality? If so what are good ear buds at 200-350$ (with warranty of course, headphones without warranty are just garbage to me)

Btw I listen to Dubstep, rap, Hip hop so I need really nice bass above all else!

That's all for now, Thanks in advance for people who not just answer but take time in helping out other people in forums!

Dec 14, 2010 at 8:07 AM Post #3 of 48
First of all, no cursing.

Then, don't look at an open headphone if you like bass. The AKG K702s are known for their weak bass, Look into something like the Denon D1100 to start, which is very bassy. It is $139.

An amp just gives extra power to a headphone, it can make it louder if you want, but mostly fills out the sound and makes it sound good at all volume levels. You don't need an amp for most portable headphones, especially if they are closed.

Dec 14, 2010 at 8:16 AM Post #4 of 48
sorry for cursing :p
uhm explain closed and open headphones? 
And if you could answer if ear buds have the same quality at higherprices that'd be great :)