Need some advice in where to begin…
Sep 13, 2012 at 9:31 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

rablakli

New Head-Fier
[size=medium]First of all I am new to this and I don’t know all the nicknames on the equipment (but I managed to find out what CLAS was….).[/size]
[size=medium]I have to start without listening to any of the amps, I will most likely make my purchase only on review’s and advice from others.[/size]
[size=medium]If anybody have any suggestions on where to find a good store in Oslo, Norway ……. Like I said, new to this…[/size]

[size=medium]I have several iDevice’s and IEM’s in different price ranges.[/size]

[size=medium]Am I right in this step by step approach?[/size]

• [size=medium]Source. Change all files to AFFF or Apple Losless, what is the better format?[/size]
  • [size=medium]iDevice (for now). Is any better than others?[/size]
  • [size=medium]The AMP:[/size]
  1. [size=medium]Portable amp[/size]
  2. [size=medium]Portable amp/DAC (is the DAC only for connecting to a PC?)[/size]
  3. [size=medium]portable amp/DAC made especially for a iDevice.[/size]
  • [size=medium]IEM and/or HP (I will go to Starkey in Oslo first….)[/size]

[size=medium]What is really the first step for a portable gear. Amp, amp/DAC or something made especially for a iDevice?[/size]

Sep 15, 2012 at 11:55 AM Post #2 of 10
Have a look at the V-MODA VAMP...

Truly a sweet piece of kit.

And... With a new iPhone out, the price may drop.

Jim

Sep 15, 2012 at 12:35 PM Post #4 of 10
Ok, I have started with the following

• Changed several albums to AFFF, only problem so far is that I can’t really hear any different. Maybe apple lossless is better?  I don’t have the option for ALAC on my iBook...
  • iPod nano 6gen is the one I have right now (working on a ship).
  • I jumped in with both feet and ordered a ALO Continental V2 ...... always had a fascination with tubes, I also have a small tube speaker amp at home from Fat Man, rock (or el-guitar's) sounds great on it.