Need Advice for purchasing Rock IEMs
Apr 25, 2009 at 11:08 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Runawayk

New Head-Fier
Ok so I am totally new to the audiophile scene. I recently bought a pair of sennheiser pxc350's but decided that an IEM is better suited for me. I'm going to college soon, and I'm looking for something that will isolate well so i can ignore my roommate when I want to. If I can hear anything except unusual noises while the music is on, then I'm not interested. I'm going to return the Senns, which means that my price range is preferably $250 or so. I also don't plan on purchasing any sort of amp or other hardware to supplement the new phones. I'm hoping this one expense will be enough to keep me happy for a good while. I'll be using these with an iPod (gasp! i bought it 6 years ago, give me a break) and on my computer/laptop.

I listen almost entirely to rock, alternative, and acoustic. That doesn't mean I don't appreciate bass though. I don't want overpowering bass, just well defined. The Senns I have were a great improvement over my 30 dollar Sony IEMs, but I prefer the portability of IEMs. I've spent days looking on these forums but there's too much information for my rudimentary understanding of the audiophile world, which is why I'm asking ya'll.

To sum up my priorities
1) Price
2) Rock acclimation/sound stage
3) Isolation/comfort
4) Durability or replacement coverage (although i try to take care of my electronics)
Thanks for any advice

Apr 25, 2009 at 11:19 PM Post #2 of 19
The Klipsch Image X10 can be purchased for $185.60 from Electronica Direct. You can get the Shure SE530 for around $250 used. Both of them sound excellent with rock and isolate very well. When it comes to comfort, the X10 gets the advantage. Good luck with whatever you purchase
ksc75smile.gif

Apr 26, 2009 at 6:36 AM Post #4 of 19