Many, many doubts.
Jul 3, 2011 at 4:55 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

alhevo

New Head-Fier
Guys, here is the thing:

I've been reading Head-Fi for a few weeks now, but the many threads I have read don't seem to solve all my problems.

I'm not much of an audiophile, but I'm entering this world. Still pretty new in business, but I'm trying to grow.

First of all, I'm getting my first laptop in a few weeks now. This is probably not much for anyone here, but considering I'm just 15 years old it's a big deal for me. And I also have a 64GB, 3rd gen iPod Touch.

I've been looking for a pair of cans for about three months; I have around 75~80 dollars to spend, and I've been looking for amazon (the lowest prices I checked are there), and I found what I thought were really nice headphones. However, my concern has been impedance. I'm still learning, but I get that I shouldn't use high impendance headphones with my iPod. Also, buying an amplifier now is out of question. At first, I decided to get Sony's MDR-V600, but I read many comments here saying that those cans are basically trash. Now, I really don't know what I should get.

Note: 80 USD is really my maximum value. I'm aware that it won't get me a high-end phone, but I also know I don't need a high-end phone. I still have a lot to learn, and I know that I'm not gonna hear the difference between a 80 USD headphone and a 500 USD pair.

I don't plan to walk with those phones, I'm going to use them mostly at home, but I may have to take them to my church sometimes, which is where I'm learning (basically, by myself) sound mixing and how to use a console in a better way.

Because I don't live in America, using warranty would be a bit of a problem, but it's still a nice add-on. And, because I may not be able to get it replaced, I need a durable pair.

And also, it can't be a small headphone. I'm not small, and neither is my head.

A few things I would like, but not REALLY necessary:
- detachable cord
- a collapsible model.