listening perspective
Feb 7, 2015 at 5:46 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

bobaroo

New Head-Fier
I am fairly new to serious headphone listening so please bear with me. I like closed headphones(don't know if that matters here), when I am listening I feel as if the music is on top of my head or that I am in middle of the music or both. This is opposed to when listening to speakers that I would more be out in front. Is this just the nature of headphones or is it a equipment issue. I was using AKG 271's and a Meier Corda Airetta amp. I am in between phones for now and will be purchasing another pair.

Thanks Bob

Feb 9, 2015 at 3:40 AM Post #2 of 6
Closed headphones are slightly lower quality than open ones although you can be very high quality closed headphones. What you are refering to is what's called the soundstage of a headphone. I am actually the opposite in that I prefer an intimate soundstage ie. the sound is mostly inside. Often using an amplifier opens up the soundstage a little but the main factors are the design of the headphone and how the music is recorded. It can even be (though this is rarer) the source. I owned a Colorfly C4 that processed the sound to try and make heaphones seem like speakers by concentrating the sounds of instruments and presenting them more in front of the listener. This came at a price of slightly lower sound quality. Most sources/media players don't do this however. Often expensive headphones have large soundstages like the Sennheiser HD800, Grado GS1000 although i'm certain cheaper ones will also achieve this. My Sennheiser HD555s had a reasonable soundstage. Open headphones leak sound alot in exchange for their enhanced quality and there are even reference quality closed heaphones.

Apr 3, 2015 at 6:05 AM Post #3 of 6