Let's Discuss Your Raspberry Pi Setups
Mar 25, 2015 at 1:33 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 42

sharkz

500+ Head-Fier
Like the title says, I wanted to start a thread discussing Raspberry Pi audio setups. There doesn't seem to be a ton of discussion around here, just a few scattered threads. Hopefully this will change as the Version 2 is now released. I'm new to Linux and not a total computer expert, but I was able to put a pretty good system together for less than $100 using a bunch of stuff I had laying around already.

I've been through quite a bit of tweaking my setting over the past few weeks. I started running Raspyfi on my Model B last year, but only occasionally using it. I decided it was time for a change a few weeks ago and updated to Volumio version 1.4, which worked, but with issues relating to loading my library from an attached external HD. Even though I got it working and outputting to my Schiit Modi, I wanted something more convenient. This was when I decided to purchase another Pi B+ to set up as a NAS using Rasbian. Again this took a few days of playing with settings to get the NAS functioning as I wanted it, but I finally was able to get everything set up with an old 1TB external hard drive connected that was visible to all my devices.

My last hurdle was getting Volumio to work. I updated to version 1.55, however for some reason there were issues with the new kernel that caused terrible distortion from my Modi. The Volumio forum support was okay, but I wasn't able to get my issues resolved. I finally decided to give Rune Audio a try. The newest version of Rune has been rock solid for me and I had no issues with either connecting to my NAS or audio output. There may not be quite as many audio quality settings, but I've had no issues with anything, even streaming 24/192 music wireless via my relatively low powered Pi NAS wirelessly.