LCD-2C or Sundara for gaming/music
Jan 9, 2022 at 9:44 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Nooro

New Head-Fier
Hey guys,

I figured I would post here so you can help me make my decision regarding my new headphones. Excuse the long post, but I wanted to fit in most of my thoughts.

I'm pretty new to the audiophile/HiFi moneysink, and I'm looking to purchase a new set of headphones to replace my old, failing gaming headset. I figured I should get a _nice_ headset for a change! And I've heard a lot of good things about open backs, so I figured I'd go for that.
I will mostly be using the headset to listen to music while working, and for casual gaming (single player games like dark souls, cyberpunk and sometimes non-competitive FPS). What I'm looking for on the gaming side is mostly immersion and rich, full soundscapes.
I've found a Sundara b-stock for 220 euro, and LCD-2C new for 750 euro. I'm pretty much in love with both of those cans, but I need help deciding between them (or if I shouldn't get either).

Personal preferences: I'm something of a basshead. I like listening to house and electronic music like Daft Punk, Deadmau5, etc. Sometimes songs with vocals as well, but definitely less frequent.
I bought the philips x2hr a couple of months ago and I like the bass on them. However, I've come to realize I'm pretty sensitive to sibilance in the higher frequencies, and even when there isn't the piercing sounds I can still get fatigued by these headphones. So I think I would prefer darker/warmer headphones.
Other than that I use the XM3 for when I'm outside/travelling to work.