Keep my MS2's, go for RS1i's, or PS500's?
Nov 3, 2012 at 12:20 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

Yogi619

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone,

I've been lurking around for quite a while, and reading the threads prompted me to pick up my first decent pair of headphones; my MS2's. So far I have zero complaints, but I also realize that there is room for improvement.

The next piece of gear that I plan on buying will be the MAD Ear+ Super ii amp, and familiarize myself not only with headphone amps, but also the tube sound.

With that being said, I almost exclusively listen to arena style/fast rock, with a little bit of reggae and blues peppered in there. My sources are lossless itunes songs converted from cd's, and Pandora One streaming music.

I'm new to the headphone world and don't quite know what I'm missing with an upgrade, if anything at all with my given choices of music and sources.

If given the chance to spend up to $1,000, would you upgrade to one of these other sets of headphones, or keep the MS2's as your main headphones? If not one of these, which set, and why?

Thanks everyone.

Nov 3, 2012 at 1:23 AM Post #2 of 8
It's not a big jump to the RS1i's (or MS-Pro) and an even smaller jump to the PS500.

I had the MS-Pro, still got the MS2i and MS1i. I ended up selling the MS-Pro because the jump in SQ from MS2i to MS-Pro was pretty small and could not justify the more than double price increase. Plus I liked the MS2i sound signature better.

In retrospect you are not missing much at all. The MS2i's remain among my most listened to headphones.

Nov 3, 2012 at 1:31 AM Post #3 of 8
With the MAD Ear+ plus another $1000, you're looking at ~$1800 total. I personally prefer the PS500 since it does many things well and is non fatiguing for a Grado, but you might want to also consider the HE-500 or LCD-2 if you're willing to spend that sort of money.

Nov 3, 2012 at 1:36 AM Post #4 of 8
Quote: