Jazz recommendations?
Apr 14, 2007 at 3:19 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 129

Deiz

100+ Head-Fier
I'm a total jazz newbie - Love the sound of it, but have absolutely no jazz collection asides from some acid jazz from Jamiroquai, Jaga Jazzist, and Massive Attack - But that's simply because of my offshoot from electronica.

So, I'm looking for some recommendations, preferably a few pieces from each jazz style.

My tastes at present are quite varied - Hip-hop, metal, post-rock, prog-rock, electronica of all shapes and sounds, limited classical, ska, and reggae, among others.

My preferences, as to what I've heard, lean towards free and avant-garde, and the more modern styles.

Apr 14, 2007 at 3:43 AM Post #2 of 129
i'm not sure if this is what you're looking for, as i'm fairly new to this genre and really know nothing much about jazz, but i've been really digging Jazzanova and like you, now looking for things similar.

hopefully this thread gets filled w/ recommendations ^_^

Apr 14, 2007 at 4:32 AM Post #3 of 129
My favorite source for trying CDs in a genre I'm not familiar with is my local library.

I started by buying compilations. Some of the first that I bought
  1. Pure Jazz
  2. Pure Jazz Encore
  3. Ken Burn's Jazz box set
  4. Big Band Instrumentals: 16 Most Requested Songs

You can pick a few artists and buy compilations of that artist.
  1. Ken Burn's series - these tend to be career retrospectives so include pieces from before the artist was a band leader themselves
  2. Verve Jazz Masters series
  3. Finest Hour
  4. 16 Most Requested Songs series - not all of these are jazz

Some of the most popular jazz albums (Edit: or at least 10 of my favorites)
  1. Miles Davis - Kind of Blue - best selling jazz album ever
  2. Dave Brubeck Quartet - Time Out
  3. John Coltrane - A Love Supreme
  4. Charles Mingus - Mingus Ah Um
  5. Getz/Gilberto
  6. Oscar Peterson - Night Train
  7. Charlie Parker - Charlie Parker with Strings
  8. The Modern Jazz Quartet - Django