IEMs for classical music
Oct 3, 2011 at 11:12 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

deyo

New Head-Fier
Hi! I'm looking an IEMs for classical music (analytical / wide soundstage) and I'm wondering wich of both IEMs are better RE0 or ER-4P's (others?!), also for it's price. I would use Cowon J3, really need an amp?

Regards

Oct 3, 2011 at 11:40 AM Post #2 of 17

I am relatively new to being an audiophile, but I can venture some help as I love classical music as well and look for similar things in my IEM's as you.

I have a pair of etymotic HF3's. They are very analytic earphones, but the soundstage is relatively small, making them sound intimate. That being said, I hear the ER-4's maintain the etymotic sound signature, which is analytic but intimate. I enjoy mine very much though. Very accurate sound reproduction.

I have not listened to RE0, so I cannot speak on that topic. As to amping, I just ordered my first, so I do not quite have authority to speak on that either.

Oct 3, 2011 at 12:01 PM Post #3 of 17
Do not get the RE0: no bass, tiny soundstage, will break under warranty

I'd recommend the VSONIC GR07 and maybe MEElectronics A151 although I do not own it. I also just ordered the ECCI PR401 which might suit you.

Ety do great in that regard though (detail, analytical, treble extension). I used to own their ER6i when I was more of a strict Classical listener

Oct 3, 2011 at 10:09 PM Post #5 of 17

I listen to primarily classical so I'll just chime in. (Cowon D3 w/o portable amp most days). You'll be hard pressed to find a pair of IEMs that are analytical AND have good soundstaging.