High-end full-size headphone for the first time
Dec 18, 2010 at 1:23 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

Szadzik

Headphoneus Supremus
Hi Everyone,

I have been here for some time and enjoyed the headphones I had and sold and those I still have. I have recently started building a bit higher quality rig though and need your advice here. 

Current setup:
I will soon have a full portable rig with Senn MX980, AT CK10 and AT ESW10 with Sony X1060 as a source that will serve me both while travelling and at work (I am a contractor and spend a lot of time travelling and 'in the field where I stay for 80 days at a time).
I now can afford to buy some better gear and now am thinking of buying some nice headphones for use at home and I want something really good.

At the moment I use HD555s to watch movies on my computer and nothing else as I do not like their properties for listening to music.
I now want something mainly for music.

Source etc.:
I do not have much knowledge or experience with headphones (have had ESW9, K450, HD555, MX980 and a few other low-fi phones) and thus I am not sure I want to jump into buying amps as I doubt that will give me more listening time at this time. I would like to buy a pair of really good phones that will sound great unamped - open or closed does not really matter, even though my flat is near a busy street and having closed cans would definitely make it easier to fight the sounds of the street. I am not going to change my source either (Sony X1060 and my computer - this may need a better souncard so I am open to suggestions here). 90% of my music is 320kbps mp3 files and the rest will be converted to that too. Neither the computer nor the Walkman will have lossless files on it. (the amp and source part I thought is just for now - I want to buy headphones  I will enjoy unamped now, but will think about buying an amp anda better source in the future without having to buy better headphones).

Sound preferences: