Help me buy my first good pair of headphones.
Feb 21, 2011 at 4:44 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 60

TheJackhammer

New Head-Fier
Hello I'm new to this web sight so please bear with me.
Now I own lots of relatively good ear buds but i think I'm ready to buy a really good set of head phones.
I listen to just about all genres of music, from dub step to orchestra.
My budget is not the largest at only $250.

I'm currently looking at the;

Allen and Heath; Xone XD53.
Fischer Audio;fa-003.
Ultrasone,hfi-780.
Ultrasone,hfi-2200 or hfi-2400.

Are these good? And if so witch is the best? Or should i buy a pair that I haven't listed? 

As far as the amp goes, I have no clue if I will even need one.
But if I do i would prefer a portable model.
My budget for the amp is even less at no more then $150, but would prefer less then $100.

ALL help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Feb 21, 2011 at 6:42 PM Post #2 of 60
Now I own lots of relatively good ear buds but i think I'm ready to buy a really good set of head phones.

Fischer Audio;fa-003.
Ultrasone,hfi-780.

Are these good? And if so witch is the best? Or should i buy a pair that I haven't listed? 

My budget for the amp is even less at no more then $150, but would prefer less then $100.

Thanks.

There's good news and bad news. The bad news is the first two brands are not common. The good news is that since they're uncommon, you can do a Google search (which I did) and find some good info sources that aren't littered with irrelevant postings like you get with the common brands.

But if you talked more specifically about your application and exactly what kind of sound you're looking for you might get some unexpected tips.

Feb 21, 2011 at 6:48 PM Post #3 of 60
Fisher audio isn't that uncommon. I haven't heard of the first brand, though.