Headphones for movies & music
Jul 24, 2012 at 7:34 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

100kV

New Head-Fier
Hi. While I don't post, I've been lurking here for a long time now. I'm looking for good quality headphones for watching movies and listening to music.

I have a Sennheiser HD202, and I don't like it that much. The ear cover is now worn out, and it feels really uncomfortable. It doesn't sound that exceptional to me either. So now I'm looking to replace it with something better. 

I watch a lot of movies, so a comfortable and snug fit is preferred. I'm not really good with the technicalities, but I'm hoping for one that produces clear vocals.

As for music, I have quite a collection of FLAC soundtracks. Most of them are OSTs or background music from movies. I listen to a wide variety of genre (mainly Pop, Rock, Techno, Trance), except Hip-hop and Rap.

My budget is less than $200.

I found nice reviews for Ultrasone 580 and Sennheiser HD439, but I'm not really sure if they are fit for my needs. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

Jul 24, 2012 at 9:57 PM Post #2 of 11
Audio Technica AD700. Great for movies, games and music. Around 100 bucks. Have great soundstage, especially for the money.

Jul 25, 2012 at 1:17 AM Post #3 of 11
I second the Audio Technica. I have the Ath AD700 version which is an open version with great detail and soundstage. If your looking for something that blocks outside noise and keeps the sound from headphones in the Sennheiser HD 280 Pro are great for isolation with a detailed warm sound. I just picked up some today at Best Buy for 99.00 and i was surprised how great they sound from the get go without any burn in. Isolation is the best i've seen yet like wearing ear plugs. Will be interesting to see how they sound as they open up more through use.

Jul 25, 2012 at 3:42 AM Post #4 of 11
Thanks for the replies.