he 400
Sep 23, 2014 at 3:27 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Gamingmusiclove

100+ Head-Fier
Ok, i've been doing my research, and i'm still confused about this, i'm about to buy both my first amp and dac, and i don't know what to choose. My options currently are: asgard 2 + modi and e12 + whatever dac you recommend
I'm really new with the whole amp/dac thing so please don't recommend op amps/tubes/ whatever other tinkery things you recommend, though i'm really open to sugestions, i want them to be as cheap as posible, so no lyr/bitfrost/m stage

Sep 23, 2014 at 3:59 PM Post #2 of 6
Look, if you have he-400 I doubt you are going to be using this setup only at home. That means e12 is kinda unreasonable. If you want to get something really cheap maybe get the new E10k from Fiio or magni+modi. Magni and modi are really popular with he-400 users and its very reasonably priced great sounding setup.

Sep 25, 2014 at 4:32 PM Post #3 of 6
Look, if you have he-400 I doubt you are going to be using this setup only at home. That means e12 is kinda unreasonable. If you want to get something really cheap maybe get the new E10k from Fiio or magni+modi. Magni and modi are really popular with he-400 users and its very reasonably priced great sounding setup.

Yeah but i don't know what to choose. The magni/modi is cheaper, but acording to schiit, the asgard 2 is better for orthos, so what i want to know is if anyone with the he400 and magni/modi could tell me how well do they pair, or if i need an asgard

Sep 25, 2014 at 4:41 PM Post #4 of 6
Yeah but i don't know what to choose. The magni/modi is cheaper, but acording to schiit, the asgard 2 is better for orthos, so what i want to know is if anyone with the he400 and magni/modi could tell me how well do they pair, or if i need an asgard

this link might be helpful for you: http://www.audiobot9000.com/hifiman/h/he-400

asgard outputs 1W @ 32ohms and the modi outputs 1.2W at 32 ohms.