HD590s bad for gaming. Other Recommendations?
Feb 23, 2004 at 7:54 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 61

kikkomaso

Head-Fier
After reading the forums and seeing many recommendations for the HD590s for the purposes of gaming, I ordered one and have been playing around with them for the last few days. I actually found myself preferring my cheap $19.99 Plantronic headset over the 590s. The 590s seemed to lack the bass capable of reproducing footsteps effectively and explosions in games like Call of Duty and UT2004 came off really dull and boring. Many people praised the positioning of the 590s to be the best but I felt it suffered greatly due to the weak bass.
I am a newbie when it comes to audio so maybe the source of my dissappointment stems from untrained ears, but I hope there are alternatives to suit my gaming needs. I guess I'm looking for a gaming headphone with these attributes.
1) deep rumbling bass (but not so much as to cause fatigue after extended use)
2) accurate positioning
3) crisp/analytical output (not sure if this matters, i'm just speculating that it'll make sounds more distinct and accurate)
4) comfortable
My friend recommended the Sony MDR-V6s because he feels they go much louder than the 590s which is a big plus for me (I have 50% hearing loss in both ears, birth defect -_-) and have the crisp deep bass needed for gaming. Sorry for the lengthy post but I thought I'd try to limit the amount of headphones I'd have to send back, shipping cost is really adding up! My budget ~$170

Since this thread is going off topic somewhat, I'll post my final questions here just in case!
well now I'm leaning towards the DT250-80s because of their supposedly superior comfort, better positioning cues, less harsh treble (makes gunfire less fatiguing?). The only thing I'm unclear of is the 'punchy-ness' of the bass on the 250-80s compared to that of the 770/v6s. Like Jodiuh said before

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------