Have beyerdynamic DT-880 32Ω, need more bass
Jul 25, 2010 at 9:35 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Henry66

New Head-Fier
Newbie here. Recently discovered these forums.

My biggest problem with headphones is comfort. I cannot tolerate on-ear or closed phones. I bought my DT-880 because it was the most comfortable I could find. There was a Sennheiser that felt OK too -- can't remember the model but it did not go as loud.

Currently I have the DT-880 connected directly to a Squeezebox Touch, no amp. I am extremely happy with the sound quality, except for the bottom bass. I can hear it but the levels do not match the rest of the frequencies.

I realize that this issue is largely due to the nature of open headphones, but I am looking for some good ideas to maybe compensate a little. Perhaps something specific to this model?

Is an amp something to consider?
I don't want an equalizer, but do some amps boost bass a little harder than others?
Where can I audition headphone amps? (I live in New Hampshire.)

My budget is US$200.

Jul 25, 2010 at 10:08 AM Post #2 of 7
with a 32 ohm headphone, an amp isn't going to magically coerce low frequency bass out of it. 

what you might want to try is the dt990.  MOAR BAAAAAAAASSSS!!!! 
biggrin.gif

Jul 25, 2010 at 10:13 AM Post #4 of 7
The better the phones, the more they tend not to emphasize bass, but provide a more balanced, natural sound. That appears the design brief for the 880s after I gave them a listen. Amps will make things louder, but they won't add significant bass, although some people will perceive added volume as more bass. EQ is a bit cheap and dirty, but the only way to do it. Or buy phones that have the bass quantity you want.

Jul 28, 2010 at 7:07 PM Post #5 of 7
Thanks for the info and tips.
The 770 is closed and I know I will not be able to tolerate them.
The 990 looks interesting. I was not aware of this model.