Finding the Perfect Headphones
Jul 29, 2012 at 9:27 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

kineticwave

New Head-Fier
I'm heading off to university and I've decided to spend around $250 more or less on a pair of headphones. I've been browsing around and reading some reviews here at head-fi but I can't seem to come to a decision.

So far, there are a few pairs that I have in mind.

1) V-MODA Crossfade V-80 White
2) Focal Spirit One (Have decided to eliminate these.)
3) Ultrasone PRO 550
5) Ultrasone HFI 780/680/580 (I don't know which one suits me the best.)

In terms of the headphone's physicality, I'm looking for comfort and isolation, as in hours of use for when I'm studying. Appearance-wise, I'd prefer something that doesn't look like I'm supposed to be at a recording studio as opposed to wherever I happen to be. I play instruments (piano and guitar), so it'd be nice for these instruments to be highlighted whenever they appear in the music I listen to. Essentially, when it comes to sound quality, I'd like for the bass to be solid and vocals crisp - nothing has to be too extreme.

If worse comes to worse and I'm forced to reduce my budget, which would be better suited for me, the V-MODA or the Ultrasone 580? I'm open to suggestions about other headphones as these are only the handful that caught my eye and stays within my budget.

Thank you, I appreciate all the feedback given!

Jul 29, 2012 at 10:17 PM Post #4 of 13
IIRC the 840 is more balanced-sounding than those ultrasone models. PLUS people are in a love/hate relationship with regards to the ultrasone's s-logic feature so i suggest to try them first =)

i would also prefer the 840 over your choices since you can also use them as a studio monitor as well since i saw on your post that you play instruments.

the vmoda and ultrasones are too bassy for my tastes. never heard the spirit one, so i cant comment on that.

Jul 29, 2012 at 10:27 PM Post #6 of 13