FiiO E9K or Schiit Magni? (Already own the FiiO E9K)
Dec 26, 2012 at 10:51 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 35

Aelemar

New Head-Fier
I recently purchased a FiiO E9 in Amazon, and received the E9K instead (paid 88 bucks)

Someone mentioned the Schiit Magni amplifier, for $99 bucks.

My setup is:

Sound Card: Creative Titanium X-Fi HD
Headphones: AKG Q701
Main purpose: Gaming

The question is simple: Which is better and why? Which one has better audio quality? Would it be worth to switch to the Schiit, or the FiiO is just fine for my setup?

Please note, I am at the 100 price range because at this time I cannot afford anything more expensive.

Thank you very much!!!

Dec 27, 2012 at 2:49 PM Post #3 of 35
I would think the E09K is fine for the Q701.
And you got a great price.

Dec 27, 2012 at 3:12 PM Post #4 of 35
Thank you very much! I was concerned about sound quality, blah blah and all that (I am an audio noob, however I have very very good ears and can detect even the slightest difference in sound). 
I kept hearing that the Schiit Magni this or that, but the E9K seems to have a pretty good reputation as well. 

Something about the E9K supposedly was the output impedance on the headphone out, but I also read in some places that the K701/Q701 are not affected by it (as in they are the only sub-80Ohms headphones that are not affected by the E9Ks output impedance) 

Thank you very much for your feedback! 

Dec 27, 2012 at 3:17 PM Post #5 of 35
Quote:
Thank you very much! I was concerned about sound quality, blah blah and all that (I am an audio noob, however I have very very good ears and can detect even the slightest difference in sound). 
I kept hearing that the Schiit Magni this or that, but the E9K seems to have a pretty good reputation as well.