Do you like wood? I do.
Mar 18, 2007 at 9:19 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

EnOYiN

Headphoneus Supremus
So here are a few pics of my new amp casing. A friend of mine helped me with a good part of it since I am not that good with wood after all. It isn't finished yet, the front needs some work and I'll use a bit of varnish to make it look better.

Enough words for now. Here are the pics:
1.png

The beyers are cool, I know, but that's not what this pic is about. It's about the ugly piece of wood next to it. Here a pic without the beyers to distract you.

2.png

For all of you who don´t know this amp, it´s a Porta Corda MkIII-USB made by Dr. Meier. I am thinking about a decent adapter connection on the back of it and some other kind of power supply. (something like a Li/Ion battery)

Like I said before, it´s not finished yet. Maybe I will start all over again to make something nicer if this one just doesn´t work out.

I hope you enjoy the pics.

Cheers.

Mar 18, 2007 at 9:35 PM Post #3 of 19
Quote:

Originally Posted by cooperpwc /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Well, you're just going to have to get some Darths to go with that, aren't you?
biggrin.gif

Beautiful stuff! I like your choice of amp too.

To be honest: I have been thinking about Darths.
biggrin.gif

I think that some varnish will do them good. And the front really seems ugly if I am looking at the pictures now.

One of the first impressions of the porta corda was that it had a slightly flimsy looking casing. (just looking though, it´s sturdy enough after all) Anyway the idea was born for a wooden casing.

Now, I will only have to make my own darths.

Mar 18, 2007 at 10:08 PM Post #4 of 19
Hey that looks pretty cool. I'd like to give that a try some day, not that I'm much of a carpenter.

There doesn't seem to be many owners of this amp here. I use mine only for listening to my notebook PC and mine stays attached with Velcro to the underside of my custom gear table that sits next to me at my couch.