Denon D2000 Amping help please
Jan 8, 2012 at 5:50 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 37

e2pathos

Head-Fier
Hey everybody, so my thread earlier helped me to decide that my next set of cans is going to the be Denon D2000s. From what I hear the clean and deep sub bass that doesn't mud up the mids and highs sounds ideal for my liking.

I have also heard that they sound significantly better amped up. Since my only cans right now are M50s and IEMs are Klipsch S4, I have no prior experience to amping headphones, I am a complete noob in this category.

Could anybody lead me to the right amp set up with a budget of $200 dollars?

So far I have found that the E7/E9 combo works very well and I have also heard that the X-CANv8 works nicely as well.
Both of these options are the same price.

So could somebody help me choose between these two options? I am also open to any new options in the price range.

I listen to mostly electronic music heavy in the bass section, but I listen to tons of other styles and genres so I need to keep them balanced.

Thanks!

Jan 8, 2012 at 6:03 PM Post #2 of 37
Out of personal experience, I recommend the LD1+.  I have one with upgraded OP amps and tubes, but this little thing provides very nice juice for D2000's.  The hybrid design of the amp works very well, giving the solid state umph with the tube warmth.  The D2Ks tend to have slightly bright treble (depending on the music), and the tubes help mellow that out.

I got mine with the upgrades for a little over $100 here on headfi, so search around and I'm sure you can get set with one around the same.

Jan 8, 2012 at 6:31 PM Post #3 of 37
Ok so excuse my noobness but with that device alone I don't need 2 different things like for example the E7/E9 combo?

I would just run my ipod/computer through this thing then this thing into my cans?

Jan 8, 2012 at 7:52 PM Post #4 of 37