Denon AD-H 1100 vs Bose Quiet Comfort 15
Jul 14, 2012 at 8:54 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

ahmedwk

New Head-Fier
I am completely new to this headphone frenzy. I am planning on a VERY LONG TRIP to Australia next month so I started checking local stores for sound-isolating headphones.
I eliminated all except two. I know some will say they are completely different and it's like comparing apples to oranges but here they are:
1. Bose QC-15: The best noise cancelling headphone.
2. Denon AD-H 1100

the problem is the huge difference in price. the Bose costs 350$ (Amazon 300$) while the Denon costs 135$ (Amazon 200$).
So the price is like three times. I really want to go for Denon. but I don't want to get it then discover on my trip that it was a bad choice for traveling.

Anybody can advise whether Denon is suitable for air travel? or do i need a specialized headphone with active noise-cancellation like QC-15?

sorry for blabbering too much.

Jul 18, 2012 at 9:54 AM Post #5 of 12
thanks. but I will get the Bose QC-15 too because the main purpose is for travel.
Also I feel that I am not getting the most of my headphones. Their performance in shop was superior to my own computer. do i need to upgrade my sound card? or add an amplifier.

Jul 18, 2012 at 6:14 PM Post #7 of 12
well a amplifier would helps most headphones at least sound a little better, but if you iphone sounds better then your computer, what about getting a portable amp/dac, like the fiio e17. it should be a great improvment from your computer and you can also use is with your iphone with a fiio l3 cable

Jul 19, 2012 at 3:45 AM Post #8 of 12
thanks sonic. ur help is great.
Yesterday I got Sound Blaster Audigy and yes.. the difference is amazing.
Unfortuatenly i couldn't find fiio models in local shops, so I will research the available portable amp / dac and get one too . I think I already started the path of Audio Fanatic :D

Jul 19, 2012 at 9:19 AM Post #9 of 12
happy listening
smily_headphones1.gif