DAP setup best matched with M50
Jan 21, 2015 at 12:13 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 50

ee-yun

New Head-Fier
Hey everybody,

I am just getting into becoming an audiophile and learning to appreciate high quality sound. But the decision on what equipment I should start off with is giving me grief.

Starting off, I am thinking of getting the ATH-M50. They are pretty reasonably priced and I've heard really positive things about its performance given that reasonable price.

Now the big questions is, what DAP setup is best matched with the ATH-M50s? Currently on my list:

1. FiiO x1 - cheapest option but also heard good things. Some of my research is telling me an amp would be helpful since I would be rocking over-the-ear headphones

2. FiiO x5 or DX90 (leaning towards DX90) - heard these are really nice machines but I'm thinking they may require better headphones to really grasp the quality of the sound. Also, pricier

Used where? Subway rides, walking from place to place, pretty much need music while in motion

I mostly listen to folk and indie rock but I delve into metal, EDM, Pop, RnB, classical, pretty much anything. As she said in Detroit Rock City, "good tunes is good tunes". I'm just trying to find the best medium.

Please help me head-fi community, you're my only hope.

Jan 21, 2015 at 12:34 PM Post #2 of 50
If you have money for the DX90 or X5, better to buy the X1 or X3 and spend more money on headphones. That's where you get the most bang for your buck in terms of sound quality for your dollar.

What kind of headphones do you currently own/have heard? What did you like/not like about the sound?

Jan 21, 2015 at 1:20 PM Post #3 of 50
Well, I have mostly been using the Samsung IEMs that come with the phone. I also use a pair of inexpensive JVC over the ear headphones at home. I wish I could give you the model number right now but I'm not at home at the moment.