connection problem of subwoofer
Jan 8, 2006 at 4:46 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

Uncledan

Headphoneus Supremus
This is a quick question for subwoofer user. I am new to sub and I just buy a used Rel Q150E. The Rel sub comes with 2 inputs which is Unbalanced RCA (phono) connectors and Neutrik Speakon connector. I want to check the sub is working fine, however, I don't have a Neutrik Speakon cable and I only have a stereo amp. Can someone explain to me how to connect my sub to my stereo amp? How to use the Unbalanced RCA (phono) connectors?

Thanks

Jan 8, 2006 at 5:26 AM Post #3 of 10
I tried to connect the amp PRE OUT to my sub, however, it is still no sound. Just to make it clear, my amp is for stereo use, therefore it have NO subwoofer output. And the PRE OUT is allowing the amp to be used as a pre-amp.

Jan 8, 2006 at 7:37 AM Post #4 of 10
You need input from your preamp. The sub is powered.

Jan 8, 2006 at 2:22 PM Post #5 of 10
Hi, if I only want to test out the subwoofer, what should I do? I only have a normal stereo integrateds amp. And the subwoofer model is Rel Q150E which have a gas-tight Neutrik Speakon input (high level) and a panel-mounted twin phono inputs at 0dB and +12dB (low level). Also, I got a RCA cable from Rel. How do I test out the sub is working or not? I tried to connect the sub from panel-mounted twin phono inputs to my CD player RCA output and the RCA output from my integrated amp pre-amp out, but it still have no sound.
Should I get a Neutrik Speakon cable?

Jan 8, 2006 at 3:03 PM Post #6 of 10
Just want to make it clear. For the twin phono inputs, it use normal RCA cable (same as normal RCA interconnect cable which have L & R channel) for connection, is it right?

Jan 8, 2006 at 5:25 PM Post #7 of 10
Quote:

Originally Posted by Uncledan