Comparison: ATH W1000X vs. Ultrasone PRO 900
Jul 30, 2011 at 5:30 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

winkyeye

100+ Head-Fier
Hey guys, this is my first time making a serious comparison between headphones and because I don't have much of the audio lingo down yet, I hope you guys can bear with me as I go through my listening experiences with these two great cans!

For this comparison, I listened to several 320kbps songs played from foobar2000 with crossfeed enabled. Both headphones were connected to my stereo receiver. Sorry, currently no dac or dedicated amp. The W1000X is stock with ~50 hours, while the Pro 900s are Kees modded with over 200 hours of burn in.

Rilo Kiley - Dreamworld
The W1000X presents the song with great soundstage, good clarity, and decent instrument separation. The vocals are very much in your face, with guitar in the background. One thing I didn’t like was how lisps were overemphasized.

On the Pro 900s, there was stronger bass punch, good instrument separation, but the vocals are not as clear, nor are they in your face.

Winner: W1000x

Red Hot Chili Peppers - Cabron
With the W1000X, the intro was very clear, however throughout the song there was quite a bit of sibilance that made listening to this song fatiguing.

The Pro 900s presented the intro greater details, but with the bass emphasized throughout the song. Sibilance not  as evident, and the song overall seems smoother.

Winner: Pro 900     EDIT - pretty much a tie after mod

Led Zeppelin - All My Love
On the W1000X, the stage sounds kind of far away but good clarity, very airy. The synthesizer solo was very relaxed, but the nylon string guitar following that was not prominent.

The Pro 900s presented the song with vocals further away with strong drum presence. The nylon string guitar didn’t sound as good as the way the W1000X presented it.

Winner: W1000X

Led Zeppelin - D’yer Mak’er