Cable(ALO) recommendation for Sennheiser HD800
Oct 1, 2011 at 4:19 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

maii

Head-Fier
Hi guys I'm newbie here. I just recently interested in Headphone system. I have just purchased a set of these rig a month ago, Burson AB Buffer RCA>Black rhodium Coda> Burson HA 160D > Sennheiser HD800, Hifiman HE500

I used my yamaha CD S2000 as a source of sound with SACD format and CD WAV format and most of my listening is with these format(all mp3 or FLAC would have converted and burned into CD)

I really like HE500 with HE6 cable. The cable of HE6 brighten up the darkness of HE500 and I think IMHO it's a good combination.

I purchased HD800 recently in hoping it's sound stage and good cross feed. It's satisfied what I was purposed but It's lacked of low ended(lame) mid bass is tight(good) and treble is a little metallic(this is 100+ hours used) if not compared to HE500.

I am newbie and from what I did research HD800 is a very accurate Can and they produce a very low distortion. In this case I was not thinking of waiting for the real break in to get the bass benefit. In my little experience that the cable would help improved some of the weak point(individual purpose).

I am looking for the cable that help improved the low ended bass of HD800 and I find ALO is one of the reasonable price (also Cardas).

I had taking a look at their website they have six different types of HD800 cable and this made me confused. I am sure that
those different types of cable for HD800 would not be a big gap of different but if I have an opportunity to compare it next to each others. I would probably know what is the most character I would like.

If any guys here have had the experience of using ALO cable for HD800 and could explain me their characteristic it would be grateful for me. I am open for some other opinion because I have a ver small knowledge of this cable product(maybe Cardas is one of the good choice too)