Buying my first audiophile phones
May 31, 2010 at 4:41 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 26

Nibor

New Head-Fier
Hi.

I have been looking around the net for some new headphones. But the tests that i could find did not specify what kind of music the phones worked best with. I listen to music like Mew, Deftones, Lamb of god, isis, jamiroquai, tool, thrice, the fall of troy, mars volta,steely dan, john mayer, prodigy, opeth and death cab for cutie. I'v been looking at Grado GS 1000i, Sennheiser HD650, AKG 701, Denon AH-D5000 and the audio technica ath-w5000. Which of these headphones would be best suted for me and my music taste or is there other cans that would suit me better? I currently own a Little Dot MkIII headphone amp, Grado SR 60 and Beyerdynamic DT770 pro 80ohm phones.

Any help/recommendations would be much apprechiated.

May 31, 2010 at 5:04 PM Post #2 of 26
I'm new to the headphone shenanigans and am also curious, own an MK III, listen to the same music so im about in the same boat as you. (except my daily headphones are shure se-110) so as you can see, i desperately need some new cans.

May 31, 2010 at 5:07 PM Post #3 of 26
Welcome to Head-Fi and sorry for your wallet...

How do you like your music to sound? Otherwise you can buy everything until you find your perfect headphone, please be specific...

May 31, 2010 at 5:30 PM Post #4 of 26
Thanks for the welcome :)

I would like my music to sound "Living and fun" bringing out the details. I think the beyers are a bit cloudy for my taste and im looking for something more open and with wider soundstage. I want a firm and solid basspunch, more prominent mids that the beyers give, and a clear top but not the sharp one that kills your ears when the singer makes "S" sounds.

Jun 1, 2010 at 3:53 AM Post #5 of 26
AKG? I have an AKG K240 DF which does what you describe you are looking for. The bass is well extended but sounds more subtle yet there is ample of bass, my ears!