Best Portable Headphones for under 300?
Oct 14, 2012 at 5:05 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 21

Mtyndall

New Head-Fier
Hey guys I'm new to this site and have little experience in quality headphones but am wanting to change that. I listen to a broad range of music but I'd say the majority of what I listen to is alternative. My favorite band is Radiohead followed by Muse. I'm looking for headphones that I can wear around. Durability and looks are nice, but what I'm really focused on is sound quality. I want balance and power to back it up. I plan on listening to my iPod a lot. (The music is already 320 Kbps, I'm not completely clueless). I was looking at the k701's earlier because they looked like a steal on amazon, but I wasn't sure if they fit my needs. I also looked at the Seinhesser 598's but again I'm no expert on this stuff and need a better opinion. I'm willing to buy an amp if necessary. Hopefully one under that's $100. Don't factor that into the headphone price though. Headphones $300 or less; amp $100 or less. Thanks in advance!

Oct 14, 2012 at 5:19 PM Post #2 of 21
the k701 and the hd598 are open, you said you are going to use it with your ipod, so that means you are going to listen to your music in public right? open cans are probably not the best choices since they tend to leak sound and dont isolate noise that well. the headphone choice, someone else can probably suggest something good, and about the amp, maybe take a look at those fiio amps? and about the 320kbps, i assume its mp3 files, if you have the CDs, delete those files, and rip from your CDs again. mp3 files are still lossy, you want to set the encoder to "Apple Lossless" so its a lossless rip from your CD. if you buy from itunes or downloaded the files from somewhere else, dont bother upconverting because it wont help with the quality. good luck and welcome to headfi!!!

Oct 14, 2012 at 5:25 PM Post #3 of 21