Being a student audiophile...
Feb 25, 2011 at 11:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 212

juman231

100+ Head-Fier

As a student, I have this problem. I want to try new headphones. I can't go to meets because I can't drive. I can't just go off buying new headphones because they're expensive. So I read reviews. The headphones other people use seem like they make some HEAVENLY sound!! Now I want new headphones even more but realize I can't buy them -_-.....

Are there any other people like me at Head-Fi?? What do you do to get out of this vicious cycle??? 

Feb 26, 2011 at 12:15 AM Post #2 of 212
Out of curiosity, how old are you?

I am 15 and I find it is best to save then spend mindlessly. You realize it is worth it. I "rediscovered" this site after my Shure SE110's broke in July '10 and now I am looking at adding a pair of Stax SR404 to my current gear (uDac, Asgard, Marantz 2220B, and Akai AP-D2 which needs a new cartridge). Oh yeah, and I am waiting for my Fostex FE126e's to come in this week so I can build a pair of speakers. Addictive stuff. Don't "waste" your time looking at reviews. Anything around here that is commonly recommended is good. I say this after owning two love/hate headphones the HD650 and K702. They were both equally good but in their unique ways. Both were fantastic, don't spend your time search for the ideal headphone for a genre, it is a fruitless venture. 

Also about meets, if you live outside a major metropolitan area start an interest check thread in the meet section. If there seems to be interest pick a date and ask if anyone is willing to come on said date (or PM Head-Fi'ers in your area) and then call a local library to setup a meeting room. That is what I did after getting frustrated that no one would arrange anything since August. 

Good luck!

Feb 26, 2011 at 12:21 AM Post #3 of 212