Beginner looking for amp/DAC advice
Feb 4, 2015 at 4:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

ragingmini

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone! I've been keeping a lossless music collection for a couple of years now, and I've finally decided it was time to get serious about the gear I'm using.

My first set of heaphones were primarily for work use/comfort so I went with Bose AE2. I was pleasantly surprised with the sound quality, and the comfort level is unreal. After deciding to just leave the AE2s at work, I picked up a set of Audio Technica M50s. These are the headphones that I listen to on a regular basis, and I ended up liking them so much that I decided to buy another pair of Audio Technicas. My third set are the AD900Xs. I have only had them a short time, but I already love the airiness from the open backs. 

All of my headphone purchases thus far have been focused on not needing an amp simply because every time I did research on amps/DACs, I would end up more confused than when I started. What I'm looking for is a good starting place... should I invest in a solid DAC first and stick with these headphones that are easier to drive? Would a quality amp bring out any more details with these headphones or are they typically pretty easy to drive? I'm currently just using the built in DAC on a Macbook Pro with no external amp.

Feb 4, 2015 at 6:03 PM Post #2 of 15
Depending on your preference, there are a few "good enough" entry-level products that will put you into a much better place than you are with just a laptop. FiiO E10K is an affordable one-box solution; famous Magni/Modi stack is two small boxes but work really well. There's also O2+ODAC.

Finally, AudioGD stuff (NFB 15.32) is supposed to be insanely good, but that's $300+ territory already.