Audio G-D/Shiit/ Others - recommendations
Aug 28, 2013 at 7:20 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

SearchOfSub

Headphoneus Supremus
Hello new to the forum.

I am currently looking for seperates to do my home theatre and music. I currently have a pair of speakers, a tv, bluray playerand direct tv and now looking for seperate combo's to power the speakers up and have it running.

I have read good things about these brands, and my current budget is $4,000. I am new to this stuff and I was wondering if some knowledgeble members here can help me out on my decision. Few questions..
biggrin.gif

1. Do I need a balanced DAC, a pre-amp, and a amplifier to get he best sound? or can I just skip the DAC and just go with a pre-amp and a amplifier? Or, can i just get a DAC and a AMP without a pre-amp? 

2. What is the best combo for the money?

I am strictly going to be using this set-up for a dedicated 2.0 listening.

Thanks in advance!

Aug 28, 2013 at 8:00 PM Post #3 of 6
Hello thanks for the reply.

I have a Vizio E552VLE TV, Sony BDP BX59 Bluray Player, Direct TV Genie, and Tekton SEAS Pendragon' speakers.

I will most likely be listening to a normal CD through the Sony Bluray player as well as Pandora, and Bluray/DVD movies through the my Sony player and Direct TV Genie in 1080P.

My budget is 4k for the seperates and I will be about 50% music and 50% movies in a dedicated 2.0 channel.

Any recommendation is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Aug 28, 2013 at 10:21 PM Post #4 of 6
I recently got the Lore speakers.  You must be one of the first to get the Sea Pendragons.

I would replace your Sony with the OPPO BDP-105, which will probably also solve your DAC needs and play many formats of audio and video.  The 105 has a built in headphone amp and section.  I would try it with a Senn HD 800 and see if any stand alone headphone amp is needed.