ASIO with A2ZS & Foobar2K
Feb 12, 2007 at 6:11 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 32

mADmAN

500+ Head-Fier
hey guys...im currently using A2ZS with Fubar 2K (v0.9.4) using Kernel Streaming (KS) via analog out.

according to the SPECIFICATIONS PAGE... it states

Quote:

ASIO drivers for low latency(≤2ms) multi-track playback and recording at 16-bit/48kHz

so i was wondering if i could use some sort of ASIO for analog out with my Fubar2K.

since im a noob with Fubar...i was wondering if anyone could help me out with a "step by step guide for dummies" to setup Fubar with the ASIO. what and where to download files etc.

also, which is preferred? ASIO or Kernel?

pls dont ask me to change sources/ soundcard etc etc as i really dont have the finances for that yet...
frown.gif

thanks in advance

EDIT: im an absolute noob when it comes to all these plugins/ foobar etc... so posts like the one below from jiiteepee, althought i DO appreciate it, would be sumthin that i cant understand
frown.gif
so pls pls.. help me in the simplest terms for this

Feb 12, 2007 at 8:06 AM Post #2 of 32
The ASIO 16-bit/48kHz mode gives you a bit better FR curve than what you get w/ KS and 16-bit/44.1 kHz. You just need to enable the resampler (44.1->48) plug-in in Foobar DSP settings (if your audio sources are type of std 44.1kHz).

Below mentioned issue has been figured out partly - http://www.head-fi.org/forums/showpo...0&postcount=32

Your card should support ASIO @ 24-bit/96 kHz too so, you could get better results by using this mode (or even w/ 16-bit/96kHz in KS mode) but, what I did some tests w/ Audigy 2 (non Zs) w/ KS 16/24@96, the resampler (PPHS), which comes w/ foobar, gave quite bad resampling results --> >30dB cut down @ 9kHz :

rsfbk2496bw3.png