Any desktop AMP/DAC run 192Khz over USB?
Feb 12, 2016 at 10:20 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

Gatecrasher

Head-Fier
Im looking for a desktop amp/dac that will run my Sennheiser hd 598 at 192Khz, and USB is my only option I have to connect to a AMP/DAC, however all desktop AMP/DAC amps all seem to cap out at 96Khz.  Is that simply because USB does not support 192Khz, or is it only in high end AMP/DACs?    

Im new to this, please be gentle.  

Feb 12, 2016 at 11:43 AM Post #2 of 5
USB class 1 only supports up to 96 kHz.  USB class 2 supports all current audio formats, including DSD.  I don't know a complete list of desktop DACs that support class 2 USB, but I know my m9XX does, as do all of Schiit's DACs other than the Fulla and Modi2 (Modi2 Uber does support Class 2, and thus 192kHz)..  Some DAC makers don't use USB class 2 because they inevitably get complaints that it won't work on their windows computers, because Windows is terrible and requires driver downloads for USB class 2.

Feb 12, 2016 at 11:44 AM Post #3 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatecrasher /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Im looking for a desktop amp/dac that will run my Sennheiser hd 598 at 192Khz...

First off, you do not "run" a headphone "at 192khz," or any sampling frequency for that matter. You "run" a transducer like a headphone or speaker with an electrical signal measured in Watts, or in the case of headphones if we're splitting hairs on this, fractions of it - mW. The sampling frequency has to do with how the digital data is processed into 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatecrasher /img/forum/go_quote.gif
...and USB is my only option I have to connect to a AMP/DAC, however all desktop AMP/DAC amps all seem to cap out at 96Khz.  Is that simply because USB does not support 192Khz, or is it only in high end AMP/DACs?