Adding headamp to improve bass of HD 650 + Essence STX combo? Optimal volume level settings?
Jul 2, 2010 at 2:39 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

ROSSINL

New Head-Fier
Hi,

I'm pretty new to using headphones for listening to music, but a few weeks ago I decided to purchase a Sennheiser HD 650 so that I can also listen to music in hi-fi during the late hours.

I already had a Asus Xonar Essence STX soundcard with dedicated headphone amp built in (TI 6120A2), so I thought this combination would give me spectacular sound. Although I am very pleased about the mids and highs of the HD 650, I find the bass quite weak and the bass extension goes not as deep as I hoped for.

So my question is: will buying a dedicated external headamp improve sound quality and will the bass go lower with more punch? I listen to all sorts of music, ranging from trance/dance to hiphop and from hardstyle to jazz music, mostly in flac or 320k/bit mp3. As a reference, I own a Klipsch THX Ultra II 7.2 setup and the subwoofers of this set are phenomenal. For example, when I listen to Chris Botti Live with Orchestra and Special Guests in Blu-ray, Billy Kilson's bass drum sounds nowhere as deep and detailed on the HD 650 compared to with my Klipsch set. Especially since I'm such a basslover, this disappoints me somewhat.
This is even with +20dB gain on the 30Hz band and +15dB on the 60Hz band using the equalizer in the Xonar software... 

Does anyone own a HD 650 in combination with an Essence STX and found the bass to become better after buying an external headamp? I have the Meier Corda SWING in mind, anyone who also has this combination (or other Corda models)? And do you guys add bass to the HD 650 by using an equalizer? Because honestly, I don't understand how some people can call this a bass-heavy headphone without any adjustments..but again, maybe it's just me.