A humble request to the audio gods (regarding the purchase of an amp/dac)
Jan 26, 2011 at 9:02 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

Xozz

Head-Fier
Greetings oh great ones,

After scrounging up about two months worth of ramen rations, I am finally at the point of being able to buy an amp/dac (nfb-12). I am just having some last minute doubts, seeing as this will make my wallet start weeping in agony. I would just like some input as to how much of a noticeable difference this purchase will make while listening with a set of dt990/600's. I know there have been other posts like this (even made a few myself) but I have a bit of a conundrum. While I completely understand that the best way to decide this issue is to listen, I have no way of doing so. Being a college student, I don't have much (any..actually) access to audio gear other than Dre Beats and iPhones 
frown.gif
. So while I wish I could hear what effect a dac and an amp have on headphones, I just have no way of actually knowing. I hear people saying that a dac gets rid of having computer "noise" in your sound, but I honestly don't think I'll be able to know what that is until I experience hearing something without it. Same kind of logic goes for an amp, never heard one. I guess what I'm trying to ask is: Will buying an amp/dac make a SIGNIFCANT difference in my listening experience? I absolutely don't mind selling my soul for better sound, but I better not have to be in a soundproof room squinting my ears and telling myself that I can hear a difference. Btw...I'm running my headphones straight out of my laptop which has a xi-fi titanium sound card, if that makes a difference. 

-Just a lowly audio dweeb

Oh, and I apologize for writing a novel...

Jan 26, 2011 at 10:12 PM Post #2 of 8