$80-150 BUDGET, NEED GOOD BASS, WHICH ONE: Sennheiser HD 229 or PX 200-IIi, KLIPSCH S4i, aiaiai tracks, SHURE SE215, SENNHEISER HD 239 HEADPHONES, JAYS V-JAYS?
Dec 10, 2011 at 10:18 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

eschaos

New Head-Fier
Hi!

First off, I ONLY LISTEN TO MUSIC ON MY IPHONE 4S, so I will not need headphones that work best with amps or anything, only need headphones that work best with the iPhone 4S.

I'm new to the Head-Fi community, but I really appreciate my music and want to listen to it with the best equipment possible.  However, I'm always on the go, biking sometimes tens of miles a day to places, busing everywhere, at the gym, always out somewhere.
I have a $80-150 (push $200 maybe)

My experience:  I picked up the sennheiser PMX 680 headphones last cyber monday (2010) new for $25 shipped, and they endured and lasted being good headphones with great bass, up until mid-summer when the wiring just started falling apart and they just stopped working--granted they were put through hell.  One thing that pissed me off about them was their pathetic, short wire.
Also, another thing I hated was that if I had them in too long, they were painful to have on my ear.

Oh, and I HATE APPLE'S STOCK EARBUDS/HEADPHONES.

I've been doing research for weeks and I get lost amongst these headphones and others, I don't know what's best for me.  I want to experience higher end music that will fit my fast-paced and on-the-go lifestyle.

I've been trying out the Klipsch S4i headphones after a 50 hour burn in, and they still aren't up to par on the bass I want, and it's kind of muffled as well in different octaves as not fitting perfectly (they fit decently, but in-ear headphones never really fit me).  At the $60 price mark, I think that I'm going to return them, unless there really isn't anything better.

I want headphones that (in order of most concerning):