$200 budget for sound card with amp?
Nov 7, 2012 at 11:22 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

shadowme

New Head-Fier
Hello! I am new to good audio, but I really like it so far.

I have bought [used] HD558 from amazon, and loving them so far! They are amazing! 

However, my integrated audio card [z68 extreme3 gen3 mobo]  http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=Z68%20Extreme3%20Gen3] isn't pulling the slack.

I feel like I need more bass with it. I feel like spending $100 - $200 for a integrated sound card and an amp to get more bass. How do you guys feel for a Asus Xonar Essence STX? It got really good reviews from what I see and costs $180.

This is my first big purchase so please feel free to comment and criticise. I mostly listen to music, play games and watch movies with headphones on.

Nov 8, 2012 at 2:59 AM Post #2 of 6
Quote:
Hello! I am new to good audio, but I really like it so far.

I have bought [used] HD558 from amazon, and loving them so far! They are amazing! 

However, my integrated audio card [z68 extreme3 gen3 mobo]  http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=Z68%20Extreme3%20Gen3] isn't pulling the slack.

I feel like I need more bass with it. I feel like spending $100 - $200 for a integrated sound card and an amp to get more bass. How do you guys feel for a Asus Xonar Essence STX? It got really good reviews from what I see and costs $180.

A sound card or an amp won't give you any bass. Try using the EQ for that.
A sound card may increase the clarity and detail of the music, if thats what you want.

Nov 8, 2012 at 8:42 PM Post #4 of 6
Quote:
The problem is that I sometimes have clipping and I suspect it's my soundcard when I turn my sound to max. Would a better soundcard fix that?

Possibly. Xonar STX has a dedicated headphone amp.
However you can also look at USB DACs + Amp. You might end up spending less.

Nov 8, 2012 at 10:46 PM Post #5 of 6
A sound card or an amp won't give you any bass. Try using the EQ for that.