REVIEW: Audiotailor “Jade” Vacuum Tube Headphone Amplifier
May 23, 2024 at 7:06 PM Post #992 of 1,002
@MDR30 the cable is my special design. I have zero audio design experience. I buy discounted spools of ELF gold-plated solid copper, and then try to make a circuit. My soldering skills are bad, and the wire is a little fragile, so I overbuild.

This adapter is from ELF 24AWG GPCC in heatshrink with a small air gap inside and simple quad braided. I don't like the bendy delicate nature of the simple braid, so I sheath it in marine grade heatshrink with the glue layer inside. I might be wrecking the special character of the ELF GPCC. But the adapter sounds AMAZING from the Jade. I think your schematic works with my naive cable build.

May 23, 2024 at 11:20 PM Post #993 of 1,002
Well, you seem to have built a mighty fine adapter, your impression of the balanced sound from the Audiotailor Jade certainly points in that direction. The most important thing with DIY is having fun, trying new solutions and enjoying the results.

Last edited:
May 24, 2024 at 8:04 AM Post #994 of 1,002
As a few people have messaged me and shown interest in the Audiotailor CCS amp, I'd like to explain the background of the project in a few words. After living with and appreciating the original Audiotailor Jade for quite a few years, we realized there was a potential in the basic design that could be developed with a new approach. I and my friends started and carried out this fun task simply to satisfy our own curiosity, and for our pleasure, and to share our findings with the headphone community.

We don't have the amp for sale and it will not go into production, but if DIY and headphone enthusiasts want to build it or need further assistance they are welcome to contact us.

IMG_5312.jpg

IMG_5218cutcontrast.jpg

May 26, 2024 at 10:10 AM Post #995 of 1,002
Dear Joseph Lau - welcome back to the thread!