You opinion please?
Jul 18, 2010 at 9:46 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

pineapplemilk

New Head-Fier
I'm looking for a good, sturdy pair of noise-canceling cans. This is my first time investing in a really good pair of headphones. So far I'm looking at these: 

Sennheiser HD 205 Studio Monitor DJ Headphones
Shure SRH750 DJ Headphones
iFrogz EarPollution DJ Style On-Ear Sterea Headphones
Sennheiser HD428 Around the Ear Headphones
Sennheiser HD-280 Professional Headphones

I listen to a lot of different kinds of music, and most of it's on my iPod: Orchestral stuff, pop, rock, and a LOT of dance music. So I need a pair of headphones that are pretty well-rounded sound-wise. I'm willing to shell out up to 100 bucks if you want to suggest anything.

Jul 18, 2010 at 9:52 PM Post #2 of 7
Have you ever tried noise canceling headphones before?  I hope I'm not presuming too much, but you said this is your first time going into more expensive headphones.  If you've never heard noise canceling phones before, be prepared for some of the misconceptions.  Many people think that they block out ALL background noise, like people talking.  However, the reality is they only lower the background noise from a constant source, like an airplane engine, a fan, or a refrigerator.  I'm saying all of this because I've never tried a set of noise canceling phones I really liked.  In order to pull off the canceling, they have to have their own on-board amp, which often colors the music against my personal tastes.  So, unless you really need noise canceling phones (you fly a lot), I think your dollar goes farther with closed headphones.

Jul 18, 2010 at 11:25 PM Post #3 of 7