Yet another newbie question
Oct 6, 2011 at 10:45 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

ilmonster

New Head-Fier
Although I consider myself an audiophile, I am new to the headphone game.  My current systems consists of a Classe' CAP 151 integrated amp, a Cambridge Audio DACMagic D/A converter being fed lossless files from my Macbook laptop, Revel M20 stand mounted monitors and a Sony XDRF-HD1 tuner.

As my wife is usually in the room when I'd like to listen to my music, I've decided to get a decent pair of headphones.  Initially, I'd like to drive them from my Macbook, but eventually from the main system.  Neither the Classe' amp nor the DACMagic D/A converter have a headphone plug.  So ultimately, I would need to get a headphone amp to connect the phones' to the Classe' when not plugged into the Mac.

I'm thinking of some Phiaton MS400 phones to start.  I would be listening to them for no more than an hour or two at a time, unlike some folks who may listen to them 8 hrs. a day at work for instance.  These seem to be able to be driven from a Macbook or iPod.  Thoughts?

Also, what somewhat inexpensive amp (say, under $200) might you suggest that I would hook up to an output of my Classe' integrated amp (both of these questions asked with the understanding I will probably get 100 differing opinions!).

thanks!

Oct 6, 2011 at 10:53 AM Post #2 of 9
FYI...I post the questions above as there are very few places locally to "test drive" headphones.  One higher end audio store (Bryston, B&W, etc.) does carry Grado, but aside from that there are only the usual suspects (Best Buy, etc.) that seem to only carry Bose and lower end Sennheiser, Sony's, Dr. Dre and the like.  Thanks again.

Oct 6, 2011 at 11:07 AM Post #3 of 9
If you're worried about ambient noise bothering the wife, are you looking for good isolation from a closed can? Or are you open to an open-back design which generally gives more detail, and a larger soundstage (but is hard to drive unamped)?