xDSD Gryphon: birth of a ‘head-fi’ legend
Nov 29, 2021 at 5:16 AM Post #601 of 1,384
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Posts
11,507
Likes
7,383
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
I think the cybersync volume control is an overcomplicated solution though...would be nice if they just let the analog pot work as an analog pot (i.e., let us turn off cybersync).

xDSD Gryphon doesn't feature a standard analog pot and its attenuation ladder inside a chip has to be controlled digitally.
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
Nov 29, 2021 at 8:12 AM Post #602 of 1,384

Tachikoma

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Posts
2,039
Likes
102
xDSD Gryphon doesn't feature a standard analog pot and its attenuation ladder inside a chip has to be controlled digitally.
Yes, I know it isn't strictly speaking an analog pot, my point is that overriding OS volume control is unnecessary for controlling the volume attenuation chip.

What I'm saying is, give us a "dumb" volume attenuation chip that doesn't try to sync anything. If I turn the Gryphon down to 0, it should stay at 0 no matter what I plug it into, and if I'm an idiot running digital attenuation on my OS, let me be. At least make it an option. The "dumb" option would also help to future proof the Gryphon against the inevitable update that breaks Cybersync.
 
Last edited:
Nov 29, 2021 at 11:00 AM Post #604 of 1,384
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Posts
11,507
Likes
7,383
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
What I'm saying is, give us a "dumb" volume attenuation chip that doesn't try to sync anything. If I turn the Gryphon down to 0, it should stay at 0 no matter what I plug it into, and if I'm an idiot running digital attenuation on my OS, let me be. At least make it an option. The "dumb" option would also help to future proof the Gryphon against the inevitable update that breaks Cybersync.

We hear you and I'll gladly pass on your feedback to our R&D.
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
Nov 29, 2021 at 11:15 AM Post #605 of 1,384

Skev

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 1, 2021
Posts
106
Likes
186
Location
UK
I love the idea of a digitally controlled resistor array for volume and I also see no reason to have a relationship with the OS as surely you'd be using the lovely volume knob on the Gryphon.

An option to turn Cybersync off in the menu system would be great. Kind of like the W2's HID option.

Out of interest how many steps of volume are possible with the array?
 
Nov 29, 2021 at 11:20 AM Post #606 of 1,384
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Posts
11,507
Likes
7,383
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
I also see no reason to have a relationship with the OS

There is no relationship, CyberSync takes control over OS volume engine.

Out of interest how many steps of volume are possible with the array?

103 x 1dB steps, from +6dB to 93dB and mute :)
 
Last edited:
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
Nov 29, 2021 at 11:22 AM Post #607 of 1,384

Skev

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 1, 2021
Posts
106
Likes
186
Location
UK
Nov 29, 2021 at 2:08 PM Post #611 of 1,384

MarkParity

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 16, 2020
Posts
654
Likes
810
Location
UK
Please hurry up resolving the volume sound issue (which suddenly become MAX) !
It's quite dangerous for us and the equipment...!
I'm experience this in particular with Tidal app on MacOS.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Tidal on the PC is the same too.

I can be listening happily at say -30dB, then disconnect and reconnect my Gryphon and the volume jumps to +6dB when its reconnected, with the music playing where it left off.

Its quite annoying and a little dangerous, I would say its its an issue that iFi should seriously be considering recalling units over. Even if a quick fix is implemented now how can iFi ensure every owner has updated their unit.
 
Nov 29, 2021 at 2:40 PM Post #612 of 1,384
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Posts
2,403
Likes
2,775
Location
Colorado
We are looking into the volume issue and I will report back when I have updates.
 
Nov 29, 2021 at 3:27 PM Post #613 of 1,384

srkbear

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 23, 2021
Posts
165
Likes
174
Location
Dallas, TX
I think the cybersync volume control is an overcomplicated solution though...would be nice if they just let the analog pot work as an analog pot (i.e., let us turn off cybersync).
I think I’m in agreement with you on this in that it would be nice if it could be turned off. Nevertheless it worked seamlessly with my iPhone and it’s nice not to have to leave my phone to adjust volumes, if I’m using the phone as my signal source. I’m going to try it out with Roon and with my iFi Zen Stream as a USB source and see how it plays in those configurations. Have you had problems with it in your setup?
 
Nov 29, 2021 at 3:29 PM Post #614 of 1,384

srkbear

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 23, 2021
Posts
165
Likes
174
Location
Dallas, TX
xDSD Gryphon doesn't feature a standard analog pot and its attenuation ladder inside a chip has to be controlled digitally.
Is the volume controlled on the analog end of the signal or is this a full digital volume pot? If the latter are there computations involved that can degrade the bit perfect signal before output as there are with other digital volume potentiometers?
 
Nov 29, 2021 at 3:32 PM Post #615 of 1,384

srkbear

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 23, 2021
Posts
165
Likes
174
Location
Dallas, TX
Tidal on the PC is the same too.

I can be listening happily at say -30dB, then disconnect and reconnect my Gryphon and the volume jumps to +6dB when its reconnected, with the music playing where it left off.

Its quite annoying and a little dangerous, I would say its its an issue that iFi should seriously be considering recalling units over. Even if a quick fix is implemented now how can iFi ensure every owner has updated their unit.
I use my unit with Roon, which allows me to set volume limits upon startup. I’m going to play around a bit with this now to see if this mitigates the issue.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top